Day Sixteen

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Summary Page

More than halfway done and things are getting a little surreal, but I’ll tell you about that when I have something to link.

Today I ended up skipping the store because I had phone calls to deal with in the morning then decided that if I don’t get some work done I’m going to get fired from my job that I don’t have. So I went out and sequestered myself in an internet-free location instead and tried to work through some things.

For Meal One I had scrambled eggs with spinach (which would have been better with cheese and just a little bit of black pepper—if I thought of it, I would have added some of the leftover curry powder I have in the pantry, but alas, I didn’t think of it until after I was done eating) along with Jiffy biscuits with orange zest which was a fabulous addition. (Thanks again to fivecats for the good suggestion.)

Day Sixteen Meal One

Meal One on Day Sixteen

The biscuits were mostly really good, but the Jiffy mix is really salty compared to the scratch biscuits I usually make. But since I haven’t had any processed foods in 16 days and I’m only about halfway through the six cents of salt I bought on Day One, I’m not going to get too worked up about excess sodium right now.

For dinner I was going to have spinach chicken soup with Jiffy corn muffins, but I didn’t make it to the store for the Jiffy mix, so I just had spinach chicken soup. It was quite good, and I’m always amazed at how much more filling a small amount of food is when you put it in the form of soup than if you were just to eat it on its own. The Mock Turtle was right on.

Meal Two on Day Sixteen

Meal Two on Day Sixteen

Today was the first day in a while I didn’t have any fruit (more because I couldn’t get to the store than because I didn’t have the money) and I missed it. But I think I’ll survive.

And I got a little bit of work done.

And tomorrow is a new day.

2 Responses to “Day Sixteen”

  1. Paul Says:

    When I read that you were out of salt, I wonder why you don’t allow yourself the freebies that are available everywhere, like salt and pepper packets that get thrown away off fast food trays, or available at buffet counters etc. Is it not reasonable to accept what is available for free?

  2. lessisenough Says:

    Where did you read that I was out of salt — did I write that? If so, I must have mis-written something. I have plenty of salt and also enough money to work with that I could easily get more. I bought 6 cents worth on the first day and still have probably a third of what I bought remaining.

    I thought I would want to buy spices but it’s turned out that I haven’t really missed them and would rather save the 10 or 20 cents I’d spend on spices and use to buy a tangerine ($.20 each).

    The reason I’m not using condiments or salt and pepper from fast food places or convenience stores is because those are not in fact free food items that the store makes available for anyone to come in and take and use. They are for customers of an establishment to use as part of the meal they paid for. So I do not think it is reasonable for someone who is not a customer of an establishment to take those items, and I’m sure if you were to talk to the owners or managers of any of those places you would get the same answer.

    I totally respect freegans and people who want to make use of things that would otherwise be thrown away, I’m fully in support of that lifestyle, but that’s not what this project is about. (Also I don’t consider taking full packets of condiments from restaurants or convenience stores to be part of that — like I said, those are for customers. If you’re a customer and you take two mustard packets and only use one, then sure, you can put the extra in your fridge and use it later. But it’s wrong to walk in somewhere and take a mustard packet without buying something that you could conceivably want to put mustard on.)

    This project is about eating what I can buy for a dollar and I feel that eating free stuff, or things I poach, or food other people give me would destroy the integrity of the project and defeat its purpose. Because I’m sure I could eat great if someone gave me dinner every day, but even if I personally only spent a dollar, more than a dollar would have been spent on my food, and that’s not the same thing.

    Hope that makes sense.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers