Seven Score and Ten Years Ago

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

This is generally unrelated to my usual topics, but it’s one of my favorite things in the world, and yesterday was the hundred and fiftieth anniversary of The Gettysburg Address, so I feel compelled to share.

The Gettysburg Address as Power Point presentation by  Peter Norvig.

Gettysburg Address powerpoint

There are so many great parts of this, it’s hard to pick a favorite, but I’m going to go with the bar graph of “four score and seven years ago.”

Also I love the fact that Peter Norvig, the creator of the slide show, wrote that his plan was to make it as bad as possible, but when he put it through the “autocontent wizard,” it came out so bad, he hardly had to make any changes at all.

So funny. So true.

5 Responses to “Seven Score and Ten Years Ago”

  1. Liz Adams Says:

    I wonder how many bloggers used this title. I know I did. Too tempting. Best piece of writing evah, though. Tears every time I read it.

  2. lessisenough Says:

    If I had thought of doing this ahead of time, I might have been able to come up with something more suitably Powerpointy. But I had a late breaking inspiration to link the Powerpoint parody when I saw an article in the newspaper about a re-enactment yesterday. I suddenly pictured Abe up there, fiddling with the projector, wondering if maybe the cables weren’t connected right.

    I was heading out for a meeting so needed to get it up quickly. So that was what came to mind. But you’re right, probably a popular title.

  3. Cathy Says:

    That is great. Bad, really. But great.
    I haven’t read the GA in a while, and it was good to reread it.

  4. lessisenough Says:

    Yeah, I feel like anyone who has to sit through a lot of Powerpoint presentations in their life will really appreciate it. If you don’t have that experience, you probably don’t get it.

  5. SoCalmomwhocooks Says:

    Thanks for sharing, Less! I think it’s funny and cute, I also think the bar chart for 1 nation (in 87 years) is one of the best parts. The comments about thanking the person who invited him to dedicate the cemetery is quaint as well. I like interesting vantage-points to history.
    Best, Kathleen


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers