Join the Club

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

In my temporary obsession following my inital reading of the NY Times article, I found links to a few other people who did the same project as the Calfornia folks.

A guy in Michigan named Evan Steiner did it in 2006 and wrote about it at Hungry for a Month.

Two women who are also in Michigan (apparently people in Michigan are looking for things to do) did it last month. They’re doing series of projects to raise awareness of poverty and to raise money for a Habitat for Humanity trip one of them is taking to Zambia later this year. They’ve moved on from the dollar-a-day project in January to Freegan February. They’re doing a great job, and sound like they’re having a a lot of fun with it. I like them. Check them out at Hope Heals.

All three of those blogs are also linked under Related Projects in the sidebar.

Let me know if you come across anyone else doing it, I’d like to link them up.

3 Responses to “Join the Club”

  1. Karla Says:

    Hey … just stopping in to say thanks for the mention.

    Our “Dollar-A-Day” Challenge was a success and quite humbling, as well. I would encourage everyone to experience this as it helps build awareness and education so many areas of your life.

    Freegan February is going well – it’s proving to be quite an entertaining and “easy” challenge.

    We are excited for March’s challenge and will reveal that on our blog on February 25th.

    Additionally, you’re not going to want to miss our summer challenge…..sure to be the best yet!

    Thanks again,
    Karla

    http://1-dollar-a-day.blogspot.com

  2. Suzanne Says:

    Becky: Kudos to you girl!!! I know you can do this better than anyone else can. Can you make fried rice (egg, rice, and some wild green onions sprouting up in the yard?) I guess you’ll need a little fat for that. Might be good after you get those chicken legs!!!

  3. lessisenough Says:

    I don’t think I’m going to be able to do fried rice unless I solve the fat issue (and yes, that’s one of the reasons I was going to do the chicken legs sooner rather than later, I’ll get a little bit of fat out of that. But I’m not actually jonesing fat yet, so I decided to put it off.)

    Also I saw sausage for $2.05/lb at Target and (I think) $1.50 for a pound at the Food Lion over at Lakewood. (It was listed as 2 for $3, but there wasn’t a separate price for one so I think that means I can get one for $1.50.)

    I’m thinking about that to mix with pasta and tomato sauce, and a pound of sausage is actually a lot, I think I’ll be able to do a lot with that. Plus I’ll get some fat — though I think the Food Lion was was a “healthy choice” version so I’ll have to look at that. Might be worth the extra $0.55 for the full fat version. I’ll have to think about that.


Leave a Reply

