Clarification

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

The reason I started on Day One with two dollars was because I had to get two days worth of food, because on Day Two, I’m buying dried beans which need to soak, so I won’t be able to eat those until Day Three.

So for those of you (named Tom) who have accused me of cheating, I just want to say that I’m not.

3 Responses to “Clarification”

  1. anne g Says:

    What, Rebecca CHEAT? No way, not ever. Word is the House Ethics Committee is holding a spot for her should she choose to come on board. They shudder at having to live up to her culinary standards though…

  2. fivecats Says:

    i would suggest that the term “cheating” is based on Original Project Specs.

    also, the derivation from those Original Project Specs was put into place through a lack of confidence in those Original Project Specs.

    and that, i would also suggest, is a sad thing.

    :)

  3. lessisenough Says:

    The reason I changed the first day to two dollars was definitely partly because everyone I talked to said I should spend at least $5 to $7 on the first day to get through the week, and I started to question myself.

    But the main reason was because I ran some numbers using calorie counts and bulk grain prices and determined that even if I bought nothing but cornmeal, which is the cheapest bulk grain available to me, I could not get 2,000 calories for less than a dollar.

    Therefore it seemed to me that the only thing I would be proving by spending one dollar on the first day and eating what I bought for two days was that someone who is willing to suffer through substantially inadequate levels of food for several days can eat for a dollar a day.

    I’m pretty sure we all know that already.

    I considered doing what everybody suggested and spending the amount allotted for the first week on the first day, but the problem with that is that you get stuck eating the same thing every day, and I didn’t want to do that. Also I didn’t think I needed to.

    I compromised by taking it up to two dollars, which allowed me to get a sufficient number of calories without locking me into a tedious menu for days on end.


Leave a Reply

