Day Two

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

What I Bought on Day Two

What I Bought on Day Two

Not much to report for Day Two as the strategy called for buying a pound of beans today, which need to be soaked, so I bought two days worth of food yesterday and what I ate today was exactly the same as what I ate yesterday.

If I were to do it over, I would cook up the cornmeal fresh every day instead of cooking up a full cup at once. I think it’s better just cooked than reheated.

My favorite cookbook, Economical Recipes for Small Families (which I will likely discuss at length later) has a recipe for fried cornmeal mush that calls for refrigerating the mush overnight in a greased loaf pan then slicing and frying it, but it involves bacon grease and sugar, neither of which I have right now. Also I went with the soft version (4:1 water to cornmeal) and I think if you’re going to let it sit overnight and fry it up, you should make it firm, 3:1. And use bacon grease.

Mmmm, bacon grease.

The split peas and wheat berries was actually pretty good. I’d consider making that again, with some cayenne or sharp paprika for a little kick.

The good news is that I discovered that Compare Foods (my new favorite supermarket) has one pound bags of rice for 89 cents. So I’ll be back tomorrow for that, and tomorrow for dinner I’ll be able to have beans and rice.

Receipt Day Two

Day Two Receipt

7 Responses to “Day Two”

  1. fivecats Says:

    can you buy pinches of cayenne and paprika at Compare?

    and are the beans for eating today (Day Two)? or are you just soaking them today and will have them with rice tomorrow?

    for Day Three (and moving forward) i’d be interested in seeing how much you have left over in terms of your overall ingredients. somewhere along the line you’re going to have to make up for the extra money spent on Day One (not to mention those two cents in tax for today) and i’m curious to see what kind of “leftovers” meal(s) you’ll be creating from what ingredients.

  2. lessisenough Says:

    I can get bulk spices at Whole Foods, which are very cheap for a small amount. I didn’t get any to start with because it’s important that I build up a little cushion of food before trying to make it taste better.

    The beans are for Day Three, after I’ve made today’s trip to Compare for rice.

    I would like to make up the extra $0.28 as soon as possible, but need to get a few more things in the food box before worrying about that.

    I’m hoping to get out of subsistence mode soon, at which point I’ll include information about what I have left and what I’m planning on doing with it.

  3. fivecats Says:

    i would think that making up the .28¢ would be a task for late in Week Two or sometime in Week Three. right now you need to be stocking up items in general.

    personally, i would make spices a priority, especially if you can get them cheaply and in very small quantities at Whole Foods. eating limited types of food can quickly become boring; spicing them up will at least vary them in distinctly noticeable ways.

    after all, oatmeal with brown sugar and butter is a world apart from oatmeal with rosemary, thyme and sea salt.

    i think once you get a Proper BIts & Pieces Pantry going you should list what you have and then ask your loyal fanbase for recipe suggestions. (blog readers love contests!)

  4. Ellison Says:

    guess I should come up w/some catchy nickname for myself, but I’m not clever enough for that-glad to see you’re up and doing this. Can I send it to the NYTimes??? Don’t we have an old connection there in the food writers dept? : )

  5. lessisenough Says:

    Do you think Mr. Chive Flan with Caviar would be interested this project? I suspect not.

    However I am considering contacting the N&O food writer (who is a friend of Nick’s, I think from grad school; I mentioned it to him when I was in DC last week and he said he hadn’t talked to her in a while but had heard she had moved to the food section) but first I want to make sure I don’t spend the month eating cornmeal mush and wheat berries. I don’t think anyone would be very impressed by that.

    If I can get out of this week in okay shape, I’ll think about getting in touch with her.

  6. Ellison Says:

    Have you heard about desserts made out of bacon? I think he may have moved onto that. Wheatberries and cornemeal mush are good. Just call it polenta.

  7. lessisenough Says:

    I just read an article in the N&O about local chocolatiers and one of the items mentioned was chocolate covered bacon with Hawaiian sea salt.

    I think that speaks for itself.

    Though I’m not sure what it says.


Leave a Reply

