Day Five

Sunday, February 15, 2009

Not much to report for Saturday (especially since it is now Sunday…).

I had cooked leftovers from yesterday as well as some uncooked cornmeal still in the pantry, so today’s meals were the same as yesterday’s: bean and rice and cabbage stew for one meal and POLENTA (stop callng me cornmeal mush) for the other.

Nothing to write home about. (Unless you start blogging, in which case everything is something to write home about.)

The big news is that I did not spend any money today, which means that later this week I get to spend two dollars one day. (Or close to it, I still need to make up the six cents I’m over.)

And that will be exciting.

I do have a plan, but I’m going to leave everyone in suspense for now.

6 Responses to “Day Five”

  1. Chip Says:

    Bun — Didn’t you live this experiment when you, Ted and I lived in Arlington? All I remember you eating was wheat germ. Although, in retrospect, I recall someone stealing my Twinkees and Cheetos. I always assumed it was Ted . . .

  2. lessisenough Says:

    Chip, I hardly think you’re in any position to criticize my eating habits, given that during the time you suggest I lived on wheat germ, you ate approximately three things (pasta, white bread, and red delicious apples), and if Whitey’s had stopped putting lettuce and tomatoes on your Wednesday night half-price burger, you wouldn’t have had any vegetables at all.

    (And, for the record, toast with peanut butter and wheat germ is the bomb. Everyone should try it.)

  3. Kelly Says:

    Polenta definately sounds better than cornmeal mush. So what are you drinking…just water? And you should give lentils another try; esp with onions.

  4. lessisenough Says:

    I think once when I lived in New Jersey I cooked lentil soup and did something wrong and it came out bad but I felt like I had to eat all of it anyway because I didn’t want to waste it. Sort of ruined me forever on lentils. (Though I have a recipe for pasta with lentils and spinach that is really good that uses the little pink lentils. I don’t think those aren’t as cheap as the brown lentils.)

    Fortunately, I don’t have any problems with split peas, and they are cheaper than lentils in the bulk bins, so that’s what I’ve been buying. Probably less protein, but they taste good.

  5. lessisenough Says:

    P.S. – Kelly, I thought of you when I posted that picture of the German family after reading Jeff’s description of the food in Germany.

    http://diamondsindeutschland.wordpress.com/2009/02/09/25/

  6. juliet Says:

    Dear Less

    I have another name to toss in the pot… a real exotique name for your cornmeal mush- Funchi ! (And if it tastes as good as it sounds, then wouldn’t funchi also be onomatopoeia?) It seems Funchi is a breakfast staple in the Caribbean Islands aka the Dutch Antilles. I am pasting two Funchi recipes below one from Aruba and one Curacao. Maybe with your 2.00 carryover you could spice it up with a wee slab of bacon.

    http://www.visitaruba.com/facts/community/cuisine09.html

    tmlFunchi (Corn-Meal Mush) Serves 6

    Funchi is a must with this delicious soup and we have therefore included the recipe as well:

    Funchi, the Antillean staple, is a simple corn-meal preparation. It must be
    vigorously stirred while cooking and to the rhytm of these rotations
    old-time cooks repeated. Un pa mi, un pa bo, un pe. Funchi was then
    scooped from the kettle with a little round calabash, and the “funchi ball”
    was placed on each individual plate – “One for me, one for you, one for him”.

    Mix in heavy saucepan:

    * 1 1/4 cups cold water
    * 1 1/2 cups corn-meal
    * 1 tsp. salt

    Stir in:

    * 1 1/2 cups boiling water
    * 1 tbs. butter

    Bring to a brisk boil over high heat and cook for three minutes. Continue
    cooking an additional three minutes, stirring the funchi vigorously with a
    wooden spoon or palu di funchi. When the mixture is very stiff and pulls
    away from the sides of the pan, remove from the fire. Turn out in to a deep,
    well-buttered bowl and cover with a plate. Now shake the funchi down in
    the bowl, then invert it on a serving platter.

    For a special Sunday breakfast fry sliced funchi in butter and serve with
    crisp bacon and scrambled eggs.

    http://www.sallybernstein.com/travel/n_america/curacao.htm

    Funchi (Corn Meal Mush)
    Adapted from The Jewish Kitchens of Curaçao

    1 1/2 cups cold water
    1 cup corn-meal
    1 teaspoon salt
    1/2 cup boiling water
    1 tablespoon butter or margarine

    Mix the cold water, corn-meal and salt in a heavy saucepan. Stir in the boiling water and butter or margarine. Bring to a boil and cook for about 3 minutes. Continue for another 3 minutes while stirring with a wooden spoon. Mixture is done when it pulls away from the sides of the pan and it is stiff in texture. Remove from heat and serve immediately.

    Serves 4 to 6.

    Tutu (Corn Meal With Black Eyed Peas)
    Adapted from The Jewish Kitchens of Curaçao

    1 cup corn-meal
    16 oz. packaged dry black-eyed peas
    6 cups water
    3 cups water
    1/4 cup sugar
    1 teaspoon salt
    3 cups funchi or corn-meal
    4 tablespoons butter or margarine

    Cook the black-eyed peas in the 6 cups water until soft. Drain.
    Add 3 cups of water to the peas and bring to a boil, then use a whisk or “lele stick” to break the peas. Add sugar and salt and whisk again. Taste for seasoning, and adjust if necessary.

    Add corn-meal, and in a combination of beating and mashing the mixture, blend it well to avoid lumps using a wooden spoon. Reduce heat. Continue the beating/mashing technique until the meal disappears and the mixture pulls away from the sides of the pan. Add butter when done and either invert on a platter or use an ice cream scoop (dipped in water before each scoop) for individual portions. Serve with butter and cheese.


Leave a Reply

