Day Six

Sunday, February 15, 2009

I Feel Pretty

The Ten Cent Breakfast

The cornmeal asked me to post a photo of it so you all could see how good it looks. Isn’t it pretty? It could use a little love.

Today I went back to the bulk bins and happily noted that the millet had returned. So I bought a few ounces of that and a refill of wheatberries and split peas. I was a tiny bit off with weighing and ended up spending $0.98 instead of the $0.94 I wanted to spend, but since I didn’t spend anything yesterday I’ve got plenty of breathing room.

(And for those of you have commented on the bag refund issue… I didn’t get the $.10 bag discount today because I stopped on my way home from Mebane so was in my car and didn’t need a bag for the few things I was picking up so hadn’t carried a bag into the store with me. On Tuesday I walked and I did have a bag with me and I would have taken one of theirs to get things home if I hadn’t had my own so I don’t feel at all bad about taking the discount on Tuesday. I’m not trying to pull anything off with that, just doing what I usually do. Usually I walk and have a bag and get 10 cents. So that’s what I’m doing this month too.)

Day Six Receipt

Day Six Receipt

Had plain cooked millet for meal one and made a cabbage soup with split peas and wheatberries for meal two. The soup was passable, and there’s still a bunch left (with some uncooked cabbage left also) so that’s good.

And now I feel like I’m at a bit of a crossroads.

In coming into the project, I felt like if I could get out of the first few days with a little bit of money and a little bit of food, I would be able to make it. (If after a few days I had no stored food and still only a dollar each day to spend, it would be a long month.)

After six days, here’s what I have in the pantry box

  • 1 tablespoon salt (six cents of salt goes a long way)
  • 2 tablespoons cornmeal (less than half a serving)
  • 2-1/2 tablespoons millet (less than half a serving)
  • 1-1/2 cups dried black beans (I think that’s about six cups of cooked beans, but I could be thinking about that wrong)
  • 1-1/2 cups of rice (which I think is just under four cups of cooked rice)

And here’s what I have in the refrigerator:

  • 2-1/2 cups cabbage-wheatberry soup
  • 1 cup cooked millet
  • 1/2 pound raw cabbage

Plus I have an extra dollar because, as noted, I didn’t buy anything yesterday, so the total available to me tomorrow is $1.96.

For the upcoming week, I was planning on heading back to the carniceria for some of their $0.89 per pound chicken legs that are giant—I bought two a few weeks ago to see how much I’d be able to get for a dollar, and one leg (thigh and drumstick) was nearly a pound. (I decided to not think about the hormone levels and just get it and be happy.)

Follow that the next day with a package of 99 cent pasta at Whole Foods or 87 cent pasta at Super Target (cheaper, but much less convenient, so depends on my schedule this week) and I would have a minimalist chicken soup.

But I have to say that as much as I appreciate the wholesomeness of my whole grain breakfasts, after six straight days of them, they’re not doing much for me anymore.

So I’m thinking I’m going to switch things around and tomorrow hit the super cheap Super Target where I can get a dozen eggs for $1.42 and a package of Jiffy cornbread mix for $.44, so with tax, the total will be $1.90. (I was thinking Jiffy mix required oil as well as egg, but when I looked at it on my reconnaisance mission today, I discovered that it’s just egg and water. That’s one reason I can switch things up. I couldn’t figure out how to take three days to get eggs, Jiffy mix, and margarine and still have something to eat while I was getting everything. But between the soup, what I have in the pantry, and my extra dollar, I think I can pull it off.)

Then Tuesday buy pasta and Wednesday buy chicken.

Then hopefully after that be able to get some vegetables, because I’ll have a little bit more of a base to work with.

And I totally did not think of this until right now (I swear) but as I was about to write out the sentence asking what people thought, I realized I was about to ask which I should get first, the chicken or the eggs.

Let me know what you think.

2 Responses to “Day Six”

  1. Jeanne Says:

    I am so loving this. I have just started reading and will continue.

  2. *lynne* Says:

    Hi, found you via A Second Cup. I’ll be visiting to see how you’re coping with your $1/day challenge. I’m intrigued, but can’t see myself doing anything like this… yet… although the finances probably scream for such frugality right now! :)

    cheers,
    *lynne*


Leave a Reply

