Day Seven

Monday, February 16, 2009

What I Bought on Day Seven

What I Bought on Day Seven

I know you’ve all been waiting with bated breath (I always want to write that “baited breath” … usually I refrain) to find out what I decided.

As you can see, I went with the eggs and Jiffy corn mix.

I decided that having eggs would give me more flexibility, and I considered continuing with the bare bones approach for a few more days but decided against it. I feel like I’m in pretty good shape and can afford to open things up a little. (Not to mention the fact that the diet of cooked grains and legumes, while healthy, is dreary. The happy jalapeño notwithstanding.)

So today I finished up the cooked millet (which I decided might be good with a squeeze of lime juice it in) for breakfast and for dinner had more of the stew/soup I made yesterday (split peas, wheat berries, and cabbage) along with a few corn muffins and a crunchy side of raw chopped cabbage.

Corn Muffins in a Jiffy

Corn Muffins in a Jiffy

The corn muffins smelled amazing while they cooked and tasted really good. But they were so sweet, they tasted like cake. Which made me wonder what cake would taste like right now. Also I’m wondering if eating sugar and flour is actually going to make me feel hungrier. I’ve been surprised by how little hunger I’ve felt given the really minimal nature of my meals for the past week, and I think it’s probably because everything I’ve eaten is pretty dense and high fiber.

My plan for the rest of the week is still in a bit of flux. I’m thinking I might dip into the pantry and use some of the rice and/or eggs. Still a little thinking to do on that. I’m going to run some numbers and see what I feel like when I wake up tomorrow

Receipt Day Seven

Receipt Day Seven

[As you can see, I spent two dollars today, but that’s because I didn’t buy anything on Saturday, so I had an extra dollar. And I had almost caught up with the 26 cents extra I spent on Day One. I decided to spend an extra seven cents to get extra large eggs, so I think I’m still a penny over. However I am confident in my ability to make that up before the end of the month.]

4 Responses to “Day Seven”

  1. fivecats Says:

    that’s an awful lot of muffins. i’m going to guess that wasn’t *your* batch of muffins but an image from elsewhere, right?

    so, when does the self-rising flour get added to the pantry? you’ll need to do it when you still have enough eggs to take advantage of the flour.

    and margarine.

    jiffy cornbread is mighty sweet (in a good way, though). and the taste difference has likely allowed you to eat more cornmeal after days of cornmeal mush for breakfast.

    i wouldn’t go for actual cake and icing until a week or two after this project is over with. the sugar shock might lay you out in a sugar coma for the rest of the day.

    and i’m not sure there’s any way of making “and a crunchy side of raw chopped cabbage” sound appetizing. :)

  2. lessisenough Says:

    No, those are my muffins—all the pictures are mine, even the cabbage photo that I think totally looks like a stock photo. I’m using a borrowed camera (thanks, Ann!) and the wonders of iPhoto are helping.

    It always looks like more food when they’re in smaller pieces. I also saved the crumbs that were stuck in the pan (I couldn’t grease the pans before cooking, so a fair amount was stuck to the bottom) and will use those later in … something. Not sure what right now.

    I did a reconnaisance mission at the Food Lion on the way back from the super cheap SuperTarget (which I wish was about 3 miles closer, it’s really a pain to get over there) and have decided I’m not going to get flour because I just don’t have enough stuff to mix with it to do muffins, and also needing milk and fat is killer too.

    Usually for muffins, you use whatever you have leftover — bananas or breadcrumbs or leftover cereal or whatever — but I’m just not going to have any leftovers eating for $1 a day. Also I can get Jiffy biscuit mix for $0.55 a box, so I’m going to go with that. It will be a smaller amount, but nothing will be left over at the end othe month. And all I need for that is water.

    And the cabbage was amazing! I think you’re just biased against cabbage. Try not eating any processed food for 7 days (including no flour and no sugar) and then have some cabbage. You will be amazed at how tasty it is.

    I’m looking forward to having the same thing for lunch today that I had for dinner yesterday, since there’s still a lot of soup and about 1/4 lb of cabbage in the fridge.

    But something different for dinner.

    Stay tuned.

  3. Sarah Says:

    I always want to write “baited breath” too. It makes me think about those deep ocean fish that have the lights in the backs of their mouth to lure little fish in for lunch.

    I’m enjoying!

  4. Jeanne Says:

    I am with fivecats above with the jiffy cornbread mix being sweet, but I am a southerner. My cornbread is not sweet. But, I do love Jiffy anything else, including the biscuit mix. And as for cabbage, I love it. Still enjoying this.


Leave a Reply

