Day Fifteen

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

What I Bought on Day Fifteen

What I Bought on Day Fifteen

Summary Page

Apologies to everyone who had to watch 55 minutes of local news before getting to the segment on the Durham woman who is Stretching Her Dollar. (And I loved how in the intros when they were talking about my story they kept showing people eating pizza and ice cream. I was like okay that is not what I’m eating for a dollar a day.)

Here’s a link to the story. It seems like there should be video on the site but I don’t see it. Maybe I’m not looking in the right place? If anyone finds it, let me know so I can link it.

I thought it was pretty good when I watched it (I liked how I was sort of laughing as I showed off my prize spinach), though now that I’m thinking about it, it’s a little bit of drag that they took the health/diet angle and not the you can eat well for less than you think angle, which is really my point. But they shot 20+ minutes of video for 2 minutes of story so I guess that’s what happens.

Also I need to point out that, contrary to what the online story says, I did NOT ride my bike to the store today because the reporter had something come up so she got to my place 45 minutes later than she had planned and I didn’t think it made sense for me to bike to the store and her to drive there and wait for me to get there. (The store is about 3 miles from my house.) Also I had to leave for a meeting at 3pm and it was already 2pm by the time we were leaving for the store and I wasn’t sure how long it would take. So I drove.

She wanted to get footage of me getting into my car and at first that seemed fine but then I decided that felt kind of weird, and I didn’t necessarily want that recorded for posterity as part of the project, that I got in my car and drove to the store since that’s not really how my day usually goes, and in fact the only reason I was doing it today was becase she was there.

So she said she didn’t have to shoot me getting into the car and didn’t have to talk about it at all, which was fine. I didn’t really mean for her to say that I rode my bike when I didn’t.

But that’s okay.

The other thing I have to say is that it’s a good thing I don’t have a job while trying to do this project because if I did, I’m pretty sure I would have been fired by now. Between going to the store every day (sometimes multiple stores), taking pictures of my food, writing about what I ate, and now, going to the store with a reporter so she can shoot video of me buying spinach, I’m really not getting anything done.

But that’s okay too.

(The reporter asked me what’s been the hardest part and I said having to take pictures and write about everything. The food part has been a breeze.)

Okay… now for the usual report.

As noted, today I bought … spinach. I’d been thinking about getting this since Friday or Saturday but other things kept getting moved up in the queue. Spinach is a good thing to add to other things to make them go a little further and to add some good nutrients, but it’s not hugely filling, so I kept deciding I needed more substantive items before getting the spinach. But I’m glad I finally have it.

Tonight I mixed about a quarter of the box with the remaining Market Pantry special marinara sauce and about half of the remaining pasta for a nice dinner.

What I Ate on Day Fifteen

What I Ate on Day Fifteen

For Meal One, I had a soft-boiled egg and most of the rest of the steel-cut oats (sadly lacking sunflower seeds) and also a banana.

I think tomorrow I’m going to get a refill on the Jiffy corn muffins and eggs, which I think should do me for the rest of the month, eggs-wise. The muffins are a pretty good bargain for $0.44. I think I was able to stretch those out over about 4 meals, and they make a nice breakfast with eggs and/or fruit. And they give me my sugar fix.

So I think that’s the plan for tomorrow. And I will ride my bike for that. And no meetings tomorrow and no reporters so maybe I can get some work done.

Receipt Day Fifteen

Receipt Day Fifteen

Leave a Reply

