Day Eighteen

Friday, February 27, 2009

What I Bought on Day Eighteen

What I Bought on Day Eighteen

Another day of distractions. Yet I persevere.

I got the pictures of the millet/chickpea/spinach un-pilaf to work, so you can see how much that made. It’s a lot—more than five cups. (I put the pint glass of water in the picture so you could get a better sense of the relative size of the bowl.)

Unfortunately, it is less than fabulous, but I added the leftover curry powder and orange zest and some lime juice from today’s outing and it was improved.

On the plus side, it’s done and in the refrigerator and healthy (millet is a relatively high-protein grain, plus protein from the chickpeas, plus the spinach), and I spent only $0.51 today, so I’m building up a nice little nest egg for a future shopping trip.

The One Dollar Dinner

The One Dollar Dinner

I also had steel-cut oats with toasted sunflower seeds, and I finished up the spinach chicken noodle soup as a little afternoon snack. Thumbs up on that. I’m going to see if I can get another round of that going next week, it was good.

I bought two oranges and a lime at the carniceria. Their oranges are even cheaper than at Compare, but it’s much further from my house so generally not worth the trip.

At one point during my reconnaisance missions, they had limes 10 for $1, but they’re 6 for $1 now. Still a good price, but I loved the idea of being able to get a lime for ten cents. And you gotta love a store that has limes as their loss leader. That’s my kind of store.

I have no idea what I’m doing over the next few days, but I know I can make it through tomorrow working on the millet/chickpea/spinach pilaf and steel-cut oats, so I don’t know if I’ll try to get to the store tomorrow or just save it up for another day.

You’ll just have to keep reading…

Receipt Day Eighteen

Receipt Day Eighteen

4 Responses to “Day Eighteen”

  1. Sophia Says:

    Very very interesting. being a cheap Asian, I’m quite excited to learn from your experiences and adventures. cheering you on!

  2. Karen Says:

    So far, I’m really impressed with what you’ve been able to accomplish. How do you feel about the nutritional aspects of your eating plan? Are you at all concerned that you are missing anything?

  3. Kacy Says:

    I found your site through the posting on MSN’s Smart Spending money blog from yesterday. http://blogs.moneycentral.msn.com/smartspending/archive/2009/02/27/she-s-spending-1-a-day-on-food.aspx

    You have me totally hooked. I’ve been trying to reduce my food budget for my family of three, but I’m too used to convenience foods and you’ve shown me how big of a difference it would make to use more whole grains and pay more attention to costs. I’m familiar with millet and using dried beans, but I need to rein in other costs. Thanks! I wanted to say good luck, but I know you can do it, no luck needed.

  4. Marcia Says:

    Well, the un-pilaf looked pretty yummy. I’ve made things like that too. I did a quinoa with dried fruit that looked REALLY good, but didn’t taste all that great.


Leave a Reply

