Day Twenty

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Summary Page

Day Twenty has blissfully little to report.

I didn’t buy anything and went with the standard steel-cut oats and toasted sunflower seeds  for Meal One and leftover millet with chickpeas and spinach for Meal Two, along with an orange and some muffins from yesterday.

That was the last of the millet, and it wasn’t terrible, but I’m not sad to see it go.

However, we have an interesting twist to the story, which is that it’s snowing right now. And I’ve been working through things so as not to have anything remaining at the end, which means that I don’t really have much on hand at this point. (Specifically I don’t have much in the way of grains–the pasta and rice are both gone, and I used all the millet in the recipe with the chickpeas and spinach. I do have steel-cut oats, one meal cooked and probably one more serving not yet cooked, and a very small serving of cornmeal.)

Not quite sure what my backup plan is if the stores are closed tomorrow. A day of black beans?

Hmmmm…

8 Responses to “Day Twenty”

  1. sugarpunk Says:

    I just found your blog – I live in SW Durham, and just started a baking business…

    Anyhow, wanted to say that if you’re really in a pinch, we’ve got staples (rice, pasta) and would be happy to serve as a ‘store’ for ya, assuming we could meet up. Of course, we’d be happy to have you over for a meal, as well :)

    This is a really great project – when I was first reading back through your entries, I was wondering where you were located (and finding such great deals on food) – and then I find out that you’re here! I was abashed. And determined to do better with our shopping.

    Best of luck to you

  2. lessisenough Says:

    Thanks for the offer of acting as my store! I’ve heard that the roads are okay and I think the stores should be open — it wasn’t ice, so no power outages or anything so I think it should be fine.

    And I’m actually amazed myself at the prices — I had no idea I could find things this cheap until I started looking. Of course it’s required going to different stores every day — sometimes multiple stores the same day — which has been a pain. I’ll be glad when it’s over and $0.20 will again be $0.20 instead of 20% of my daily food budget.

  3. fawn Says:

    I wanted to tell you that we are following you over on the simpleliving.net discussion forums and think that you are doing a great job. Your meals are well-planned for cost and nutrition and even more visually appealing than I would have expected. Thanks for doing this and showing other folks well it can be done.


  4. You bring up a good point, the entire emergency / disaster scenario always calls for a backup plan of at least a week of food that can be stored indefinitely. There are people, like me, that seem to worry about these type of things constantly. I just don’t want to get caught with my pants around my ankles when someone opens the door.

  5. lessisenough Says:

    Well technically I have plenty of food, just not anything I’m “allowed” to eat on the project (because I bought it prior to the project starting, and spent more than a dollar). So I wouldn’t starve. Just didn’t consider this scenario in the context of the 30 days because it doesn’t happen very often.

  6. melody Says:

    I’m glad that you will be able to make it to the store. I’ve been thinking a lot about what you’re doing.. I love seeing the progression of your meals as you’re able to “build” your pantry.. and something as simple as an orange or lime can really make all the difference.

  7. caryesings Says:

    I notice no dairy in your diet so far. Is that a personal preference or excluded due to expense?

  8. Liz Says:

    I’m really enjoying following your little adventure. It has definitely made me realize I’ve gotten lazy with both my grocery budget and the level of creativity I use when making meals. Far too often I look in my kitchen and think “I’ve got nothing to eat!” when, in fact my pantry and fridge are practically full. Thank you for inspiring me to re-think my food habits and helping me remember how fortunate I am.


Leave a Reply

