My Favorite Link…

Monday, March 9, 2009

…so far, at least.

From the Washington City Paper daily food roundup blog:

“[lessisenough] got all pissed off after reading one couple’s struggle to do the same thing and decided to prove that the vegans were just amateur ascetics (and lousy cooks).”

Yes, please leave the asceticism to the professionals.

And a marginally related aside, which I’ve been trying to figure out how to work in, since I love this quote so much, but haven’t been able to do it so I’m just going to put it here.

I once read a quote from a Greek soldier (I have no idea where I read it, and haven’t been able to find it again) who said that after eating Spartan food, he could understand why Spartans weren’t afraid to die.

So that’s what I always think of whenver anything is described as being Spartan.

2 Responses to “My Favorite Link…”

  1. Marcia Says:

    Funny, I have a friend who is vegan and a nutrition counselor. She and her husband took a trip to Greece last year, and now they are rolling out the “Spartan Diet”!

    That just makes me kinda cringe.

  2. Amanda Says:

    What exactly does Spartan food entail?

    btw, I have to tell you how inspiring your blog has been! I’ve enjoyed reading all of the things you’ve come up with! It makes me want to use up everything I have in my fridge/cupboards and then start from scratch and eat simply like this. It all looks like it tastes delicious and I love how practical and simple it all is :).

    Thank you for doing this.


Leave a Reply

