Day Twenty-Nine

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

What I Bought on Day Twenty-Nine

What I Bought on Day Twenty-Nine

Summary Page

One more day. Hooray!

More yogurt—one for today, one for tomorrow.

Today I ate steel-cut oats with toasted sunflower seeds and a tangerine for Meal One, and half the quart of chicken soup (30 cents worth), along with the rest of the Jiffy bran muffins for Meal Two, followed by a nice walk over to the Whole Foods and back, and a 6 ounce container of blueberry yogurt when I got home.

All good.

One Quart of Chicken Soup: Sixty Cents

One Quart of Chicken Soup: Sixty Cents

$1.40 left.

I’m going to go to the store tomorrow and see if I can find anything for exactly $1.37—but I don’t think I’ll be able to, because most things are priced at 9 cents (e.g., $0.99, $1.29, $1.39, etc.). And I’m pretty good with those bulk bins, but I don’t think I’m good enough to serve myself exactly $1.37 worth of food that I’ll want to eat tomorrow.

Receipt Day Twenty-Nine

Receipt Day Twenty-Nine

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

2 Responses to “Day Twenty-Nine”

  1. kim Says:

    I read through your project starting with day one tonight. It has been very interesting!

    Our grocery budget is pretty reasonable, $40 a week for 2 people. I am not sure I could trim that down to $14 (darn milk for the baby lol) but it made me think about how much I am paying per meal and how much less expensive it would be if I trimmed out some processed items we eat every day.

  2. Betsy Says:

    I just read through your entire project as well. I’m looking forward to seeing what tomorrow brings. I’m impressed that you stuck with it for an entire month. Great job!


Leave a Reply

