Day 30 + 1

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Figured you’d want know what I bought today, and I took a picture of it but somehow managed to kill it in my photo editing program after I’d deleted it from the camera.

So you’ll have to settle for the receipt.

Receipt Day 30+1

Receipt Day 30+1

I suspect I’ll be spending more than I usually do over the next few shopping trips until I can get back into my regular routine, having the things I need and filling in the gaps when I shop.

Today’s splurge was the nova lox. Crackers always seem like a lot but they last for a while and I felt like I should get food that can be eaten a little at a time while I get used to eating more. I’m going to make some guacamole kind of thing out of the avocado to eat with the crackers.

I had a lunch meeting, so my first meal turned out to be a bowl of minestrone soup at Parker and Otis. Then an Odwalla carrot juice, some whole wheat honey fig bars, and some roasted almonds.

Did a little filming with Inside Edition (I’m getting to be a pro at fake shopping, and cooking things and pretending like I’m eating a meal) then had a toasted sesame bagel with cream cheese and nova lox and half an apple.

So that’s what I ate today on my first day off.

I know that might be the most exciting post I’ve put up yet. (For all you who asked for more … be careful what you wish for.)

6 Responses to “Day 30 + 1”

  1. kit Says:

    *droooooool*

    Sounds like a great bunch of meals to me! I’m jealous that you can get avocados for $.99, they’re $1.69-$1.99 here at the WF and I would eat them every day if I could.

    Congratulations on your food freedom!

  2. Sarah Says:

    Okay, this cracked me up so much I scared my kids:
    Did a little filming with Inside Edition

    Is this a line you ever, ever, thought you’d utter?

    Is this a line I ever, ever, thought I’d hear from you?

    Still recovering!

  3. lessisenough Says:

    It’s true. People who don’t know me can’t even imagine how bizarre this is for me and for the people who do know me.

    Molly told me there’s some poor girl in Dallas crying into her hot rollers because I stole her dream.

  4. stacey Says:

    I think that what you have done is AWESOME!! I do my best to eat whole foods/ organic and I hear all the time how expensive it is. (Sometimes they even get me to believe it : ) Thank you for showing that it can be done.

  5. Alice Says:

    You splurged a lot less than I would have!
    In my circle we call Whole Foods “Whole Paycheck” because things are much more expensive there than other local groceries.

    Except for the avocados.

    We still have a “hippie” style food co-op here, where you can get bulk foods, and get a discount for joining the co-op, too. That’s a nice thing. But I think they kind of went out of style in the ’80s. Maybe they will come back.

  6. lessisenough Says:

    I know people call it Whole Paycheck but I love Whole Foods and I shop there all the time without spending too much ($80-$90/mo, approx. $3/day)

    I think their food is high quality and the store near me has good specials on fruits and vegetables and meats, it has some of the cheapest dairy around, and also their store brand items are very competitively priced. (For instance you can get a pound of pasta for $.99, which is cheaper than any store except the SuperTarget — which had pasta for $0.87 on my project but was $0.92 the last time I was there. So roughly the same price — unless you only have a dollar in which case its 8% of your budget, and worth the trek.)

    I think Whole Foods leaves a lot of control to their local stores, so each store is different. In this area, there was a local chain called Wellspring that Whole Foods bought in I think around 1990. They kept the Wellspring name until around 2001 (?) or so when they switched it over to Whole Foods. The stores here (Durham, Raleigh, Chapel Hill) are all different from each other and different from other Whole Foods I’ve been to in other parts of the country.

    The store is walkable to my house, it’s small, the food is great, and everyone there is nice. I’m very glad my project is over and I can do all my shopping there again.


Leave a Reply

