Site Note

Friday, March 27, 2009

I know it’s gotten sort of hard to find things and to navigate through the articles. I need to do some work to set up an index of articles that will let you find what you’re looking for more easily and jump directly to something, but I haven’t gotten to it yet and probably won’t for at least a few more days.

For now, the best way (or possibly the only way?) to get to older articles is to click on the Archives link in the sidebar, and then scroll to the bottom and click on the “older entries / newer entries” buttons at the bottom to move back and forth through all the entries.

If there are any WordPress experts out there who have suggestions for making it easier to navigate (using widgets or whatever) feel free to let me know. I have good computer skills, but I’m a newbie blogger so I’m just trying to figure things out as I go.

13 Responses to “Site Note”

  1. Julie Says:

    I’m not an expert by any means but you want to use categories and tags. They can be anything you want them to be and are along the right side of the page when you are entering your posts. Don’t know if this is helpful to your or not but thought I’d try.

  2. lessisenough Says:

    Thanks, I did see that I could do something using categories but right now almost all my posts have the same category so I’m not sure how helpful it will be. I think I’ll have to figure out other tags and categories and go through the posts and assign them, and then do the index.

  3. Michelle Says:

    Another suggestion would be to add the “search” widget. See how it shows up in my blog, http://mickysgreenguide.wordpress.com/, I placed it purposefully in the upper-right corner so it’s easy to see on every page.

  4. Michelle Says:

    … and perhaps consider adding the ‘calendar’ widget so folks can quickly navigate to a specific day, like February 10th when you started the blog.

  5. lessisenough Says:

    Does the search actually work to find things? I feel like site-specific search function is so bad sometimes it’s worse than not having it. Have you tried to search for things that you know are there to see what comes up?

  6. sarah Says:

    Regarding tags–work to set up, but very helpful if you have a sort of tag dictionary in mind when you start. Tags for you might be key ingredients and concepts along with time frame: eggs “whole grains” Jiffy week1 heroes etc.

    I need to play around with adding a search widget.

    A FEEDJIT Live Traffic Map is fun too.

  7. Michelle Says:

    I find the search tool works okay. I have tried it for things I know are there, and I find it doesn’t search the ‘tags’ or ‘categories’ very well, but focuses on the text of the post.

  8. lessisenough Says:

    Thanks for the tag thoughts. That might help get me started thinking about it. I didn’t really have a plan from the beginning, so it was a little hard to organize things that way when I was starting. I just gave everything the $1/day tag. Now that I can see how it all ended up (or has ended up so far, at least), I think coming up with some kind of structure will be easier.

  9. Louise Says:

    You made mention of a book called Economical Recipes for Small Families… I tried to find that on our Library catalogue online but I cannot find it…. Can you please give me the full title and the author??? Thank you… I am full time caregiver to my mom so there is just the 2 of us to feed and smaller recipes would be wonderful

  10. lessisenough Says:

    Unfortunately, Economical Recipes for Small Families is just a little spiral bound thing (like a church cookbook) published in the early 1970s by Idaho State University Press. It looks like there are a few libraries in Idaho that have it, but if you’re somewhere other than southeastern Idaho, I think you might be out of luck.

    I might try to scan it so I can put it up as a PDF, since you’re not the only one who has asked about it. It’s sort of an odd collection of recipes, many rely on processed convenience foods but others are basic and simple.

    I know I won’t be able to do it for a few weeks, but I’ll put that on my to-do list, to try to figure out how to get that out to the public.

    In the meantime, one cookbook I use a lot that maybe could help you is the More-With-Less Cookbook by Doris Janzen Longacre. (I’m going to put up a post about that and other cookbooks I’ve found helpful, so look for that in the next few days.)

  11. Sarah Says:

    Here’s a site in the spirit of your blog. http://www.stilltasty.com/ It answers the eternal question “is X still safe to eat?”

  12. Amy Billings Maine Says:

    Just to let you know, I found a VERY cheap copy on amazon.com this weekend of the More-With-Less Cookbook by Doris Janzen Longacre. I’m looking forward to getting it and will pass it along to my sister-in-law who is also trying to cook frugally. Thanks for the recommendation. I have 50 cookbooks, but nothing that helps me eat cheaply! (See what a helpful influence you are to others? :-)

  13. Chicky Mama Says:

    I love More With Less, and the companion cookbook of recipes from around the world, Extending the Table.


Leave a Reply

