The Blue Cheese Did Not Have Crack In It

Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Iron Crafter Trophies

My friend Ann (who at one point noted that she was mentioned in nearly every post here, I told her that’s what she gets for being my only friend) told me that someone wrote a blog post that talked about the blue cheese dip I made for the recent Scrap Holiday Party/Iron Crafter competition.

So of course I had to look to see what they said. Here’s the post, which I think is a very funny summary of the night. However I would like to note that the judging for that portion of the competition was handled by a 7-year-old , so even if we wanted to rig it, it probably wouldn’t have worked. Seven-year-olds are notoriously difficult to program.

The blue cheese dip recipe is from my mom. It is very good, but I generally do not use crack in my cooking, and this night was no exception. The recipe came from an article in the Buffalo News a very long time ago (late ’70s/early ’80s) about the original Anchor Bar wings. This is the dip you serve with Buffalo wings, which many places serve now, but very few make properly. And no one serves dip as good as this.

Buffalo Wing Blue Cheese Dip

2 T chopped onion
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 cup mayonnaise
1/2 cup sour cream
1 T white vinegar
1 T lemon juice
1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese
1/4 cup minced parsley
salt and pepper to taste
cayenne to taste (optional — in the version of the recipe I have from my mom, it says, “Do not put in.”)

Combine all ingredients. Season to taste. Chill. Makes 2-1/2 cups.

And here are my adjustments.

I use a LOT of blue cheese, partly because it’s very difficult to buy 1/4 cup of anything and partly because it’s better with more.

I use only a couple of tablespoons of sour cream and substitute a small container (6 oz) of nonfat plain yogurt, placed in a seive over a bowl for 30 minutes to an hour (or longer, if I think of it ahead of time) to drain out excess water. I think straight sour cream is too heavy.

I use parsley if I’m making the dip for a special occasion or if I have parsley on hand, otherwise I skip it. But it is better with parsley.

I also tend to adjust the vinegar and lemon juice to make it more tart. And sometimes I add more garlic.

Basically I just mix stuff together and taste and adjust the garlic, vinegar, lemon juice, salt and pepper until it tastes so good that someone might accuse me of having put crack in it. Then I put it in the fridge and let it sit for a few hours so everything can meld together. Then serve with carrots and celery sticks and WINGS.

When I was talking about the dip and the wings at the Scrap party, a friend whose husband works at the Piedmont said that one of the chefs there is from Buffalo and had been making “real” wings for the staff. She said she thinks they’re on the menu now, because everyone liked them so much. She said, “It’s Frank’s hot sauce and butter.” I said, “Yes. That’s it.” So there’s your secret recipe — Frank’s hot sauce and butter. On deep-fried wings. NOT baked, broiled, or grilled. Deep-fried. With no breading or anything. Just drop wings into vat of sizzling fat until they’re crispy and golden, let cool on paper towels or paper bags or newspaper (to soak up excess grease) then place them in a bowl with the sauce, stir to mix and let them sit and soak it up while you cook the rest of the wings.

You can serve that on New Year’s Day while you watch football. Then start your New Year’s diet feeling like you got your money’s worth.

Here are some pix from the competition, for those who are interested. Thanks much to Eleanor Mills for serving as documentarian!

7 Responses to “The Blue Cheese Did Not Have Crack In It”

  1. Groovy Girl Says:

    Thanks for posting the link to the other blog post. Any article with a casual reference to a “codpiece/merkin” gets my vote. Was there also a cakewalk?! The photos are very intriguing….

  2. Dee Says:

    Here here! Wings are so simple, no one (except the Piedmont chef apparently) can figure out how to cook them right outside of Bflo. I would add to Becky’s thoughts — don’t bake them just because you think they’ll be healthier. They’ll never be healthy; they’re mostly chicken skin. Just fry them and be done with it — the crispier the better.

    Happy New Year!

  3. lessisenough Says:

    There was a cakewalk, and way too many cakes given the inclement weather. I think we ended up tackling a couple people on the way out the door and making them take a cake with them.

    The codpiece was quite festive, though at one point it fell off, leaving the oddly ambisexual mannequin (which was standing on a table) uncovered at about eye level. Mildly disconcerting, as you can imagine.

  4. Penny Saver Says:

    Buffalo Chicken dip was the surprise hit at the New Year’s part we went to as well. The difference was that bits of chicken were mixed into the dip and it was scooped up with crackers and celery sticks. Mmmm… Parsley sounds like a yummy addition!

  5. fivecats Says:

    i am so glad you have one (count ’em, ONE) friend, and she has been clearly named.

    it lets the rest of us know exactly where we stand.

    (hrumph)

  6. lessisenough Says:

    See, that was a JOKE. Ha ha. Cuz everyone who knows me knows that I have like a million friends. Two million maybe.

    Does that make you feel more special?

  7. fivecats Says:

    more special? h3ck, i don’t even feel special.

    despite being anonymously mentioned practically in the next breath.

    *sigh*


Leave a Reply

