Week Nine

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Okay the Week Eight run-down was a bit out of control, I’ll try to rein things in for Week Nine. And I know I’m still behind. Welcome to my world.

I started Week Nine (3/1 – 3/7) with a breakfast of a bagel and an orange, followed by a trip to Whole Foods to get things for my Monday night recipe (look! an actual recipe!) of Tofu and Broccoli with Peanut Sauce. This was a Mollie Katzen (of Moosewood fame) recipe I saved from the paper a long time ago that I’d never made and wanted to try.

Week Nine, part I

Week Nine, part I

I had gotten broccoli at Compare on Sunday 2/28, so just needed tofu (Og Firm Tofu 14oz) and peanuts (Unsalted Peanut Bu) for the recipe. I wasn’t sure what the ginger root situation was in the freezer so I got some of that (Root Ginger CV). I also bought some refills for the pantry: a pound of brown rice (Short Grain Brown), a quart of canola oil (Canola Oil), and a few pounds of rolled oats (Bulk Organic Rolle). Total $11.48 with the bag refund.

So I made Tofu and Broccoli with Peanut Sauce for dinner and served it over brown rice. It was pretty good, though not sure if I’ll be making it again any time soon, mostly because it’s much better the first night than it is leftover. Maybe I’d like it better if I was cooking it for someone and wasn’t going to have leftovers. I’ll have to think about that. But not worth posting the recipe I don’t think.

For dessert, I had some Trader Joe’s cookies and Trader Joe’s chocolate.

On Tuesday I had an egg sandwich (scrambled eggs with bacon and cheese on a rosemary bagel) along with fried apples and a glass of milk for a brunch-ish meal and then went out and worked and got home late and just had some late-night snacks — cheese and crackers and dried figs and peanuts for dinner. Not such a stellar day.

On Wednesday, I had an epic adventure in search of a burger.

I had been talking with a friend over the summer about Only Burger and we were supposed to go but we never managed to make it, one thing or another kept coming up, and then she was in Guatemala for six weeks learning Spanish and I kept seeing the Only Burger truck. Every time I’d see it, I’d think about how Rowan and I never had our Only Burger and that we’d have to go when she got back. So she was back on Monday and I told her I’d take her out for lunch but I was having trouble figuring out when the Only Burger truck was going to be in our neighborhood. Seems like they announce its location only one or two meals ahead which makes advance planning difficult.

But once I mentioned the prospect of Only Burger to Rowan, she became moderately obsessed with it. (She decided that their strategy of not telling people where the truck will be is designed to get people to get a burger any time they see the truck, since they don’t know when they’ll have another chance … she could be on to something.) She decided we should just go to where the truck was, even if it wasn’t in our neighborhood. So on Wednesday we went in search of the Only Burger truck but it was not where the website said it was going to be. So we ended up going to Five Guys at Southpoint instead, and eating at a mall food court does seem a little weird at this point in my life, but I have to say that for Five Guys, it’s worth it.

I had a Little Burger with lettuce, onion, ketchup, mustard, pickle and a Coke, and we split a large fries. And it was good, good, good.

For dinner I had a no-sodium meal of oatmeal and a grapefruit and half a pear, to try to make up for lunch a little bit.

On Thursday, I had a bowl of oatmeal for breakfast, along with a soft-boiled egg and half a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. For dinner I had what was left of the tofu and broccoli with peanut sauce over sushi rice. I also had some cheese and crackers and some almonds as a snack, and for dessert had the last of the Trader Joe’s cookies and the last of the Trader Joe’s chocolate. Glad to be done with those.

On Friday I had a bowl of oatmeal and an apple for breakfast, then off to an afternoon meeting in Cary. After my meeting I bribed myself into doing more work with a trip to Foster’s for a late lunch/early dinner. Usually I get the Greek Grilled Cheese but decided to do something different this time and had a Cubano with some potato chips and an iced tea. I also got a cup of coffee, and bought some chocolate-covered espresso beans on the way out, to help get through my work. Worked pretty well, I did get some things done.

On Saturday, I had half a bagel with peanut butter and an orange for breakfast, then went out to do some errands. I’d been thinking about getting a chicken for a while but things kept coming up. Finally it seemed like the right time.

Week Nine, part II

Week Nine, part II

I got a whole chicken (Whole Broiling CK) and a pound of pasta (Spaghetti Pasta 16) and a can of tomatoes (Whole Peeled Tomat) so I could make Lone Star Chicken. Bryant had dropped off some more granola, so I got some yogurt (Plain FF Yogurt 32) and bananas (Yellow Bananas CV) to eat with that. And also some apples (Apples Empire CV) because they were exceptionally cheap. And a bottle refund and two bag refunds, though I’m not sure I used two bags. Cheater. Total $12.80.

I had some cheese and crackers and almonds while I fixed dinner, and then had Lone Star Chicken over pasta for dinner. For dessert, I had a little bit of yogurt with half a banana and some granola.

On Sunday, I made cranberry-peach pancakes (with cranberries and peaches from the freezer) and ate those with homemade syrup (2:1 ratio of sugar to water plus a little bit of molasses), and then had round two of the Lone Star chicken for dinner, with yogurt/banana/granola for dessert, along with some chocolate-covered espresso beans.

And that was it. Week Nine Over.

Leave a Reply

