Chicken Dinner, Part II

Friday, October 29, 2010

When the dumplings were gone but there was still chicken and lots of stock left, along with plenty of gravy, I made biscuits and took some of the chicken off the bone and served with the biscuits with gravy poured over the top of everything.

Biscuits are a great way to make something out of nothing, especially if you like eggs. There’s nothing better than eggs with biscuits for any meal of the day, even better if you have bacon or sausage to go with it, and some good tart apples to fry up in a little bit of bacon grease.

But I’ll leave the eggs and bacon and fried apples for a different post. Today we’re talking about chicken.

I use a very basic biscuit recipe, and if I’m cooking for myself I always cut the recipe in half because biscuits are a million times better fresh than leftover. If you can handle the sodium, Jiffy Biscuit Mix for fifty cents is a good option; you can easily make half a box at a time. But boy is it salty if you’re not used to that.

This is not really a recipe, but in the spirit of Learning to Cook with Marion Cunningham, I’ll give instructions anyway.

First, make the biscuits. The recipe below is adapted from the More-with-Less Cookbook.

Basic Biscuits
2 cups sifted flour
3 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup shortening or butter
3/4 cup milk

Preheat oven to 425°F.

Sift together in a bowl flour, baking powder, and salt. Cut in shortening until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add milk all at once stirring until soft ball is formed.

Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead lightly a few times. Roll or pat dough to 1/2 inch thickness. Cut into desired shapes with biscuit cutter or glass or sharp knife.

Place on ungreased baking sheet and bake 10-12 minutes or until tops are golden brown.

Then when those are done, put them together with the leftover chicken and gravy.

Chicken with Biscuits

Use chicken left over from Stewed Chicken and gravy left over from Chicken Gravy.

Take chicken meat off the bone of a few pieces of chicken. You can cut the chicken into smaller pieces or leave it larger, as you prefer. You can also heat it up a little if you want.

Heat the gravy.

Cut two hot biscuits in half and put the halves, cut side up, on a plate. Scatter the chicken over the top of the biscuits. Pour the warmed gravy over the top of everything.

Eat.

It’s way better than Bojangles.

3 Responses to “Chicken Dinner, Part II”

  1. Lorrie Says:

    This looks great! I love to cook one thing and then be able to reincarnate it as something that doesn’t even seem like leftovers. This past week I made a 4.5 lb. roast beef. It was a bottom round — a fairly inexpensive cut that I purchased when it was buy one, get one free at my local grocery store. We had roast beef with mashed potatoes and gravy one day and roast beef sandwiches another day. One day I had a salad with strips of beef on it.

    Today I took what was left (a little over a pound) and made it into vegetable beef and brown rice soup, which gave us dinner tonight and probable lunch tomorrow, and I still have enough to freeze for another meal. I made corn muffins to go with the soup today. They are about as versatile as biscuits. Thanks again for the inspiration.

  2. lessisenough Says:

    Roasts are great! I’m from Buffalo and a big thing there is “beef on weck” — roast beef sandwiches on kummelweck rolls. Not sure if they have those everywhere — they’re basically a sandwich roll/kaiser roll with carraway seeds and salt on top. They’re really good with roast beef. And coleslaw and/or horseradish. Mmmmm…..

    You can do the same kind of thing with leg of lamb — eat once in a big family dinner with potatoes and carrots and all that stuff, then another night with leftovers and mostly the same thing, then a few more meals in hash or curries or whatever. It’s harder to do that when you’re cooking for yourself. You really have to have a party or something to make something like that, otherwise you have to eat it forever.

  3. Lorrie Says:

    I’ve never heard of kummelweck rolls, but I found this info about them on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beef_on_weck_sandwich I don’t think they are available in the Chicago area, unless perhaps at a specialty or ethnic store or restaurant. I have not encountered them. Sounds good, though I’m not a fan of caraway seeds or horseradish. I’m kind of surprised that I have not heard of them since my ancestry on my mother’s side is German Hungarian and these rolls have a German origin. I know my grandfather liked horseradish and even made his own.

    I agree about the leg of lamb. My daughter always requests leg of lamb for her birthday dinner and I use the leftovers to make a lamb and rice dish from the Fannie Farmer cookbook. You are right about it being tough to make these kind of meals for a single person. I guess you just have to share them with others who appreciate them.


Leave a Reply

