Interesting Project

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

I love that my friends send me links to food projects they think I’d like when they run across them.

The latest is over at Slate, where one of the bloggers is attempting to turn over a new leaf and eat right. She’s blogging about her experience — and including pictures of everything she’s eating, I like it when other people have to suffer through that! — and discussing the most common obstacles to eating better and what she’s learning as she tries to work through everything.

I learned about the project last week (thanks, Carrie!) when it had been going on for ten days, and I started with the “healthy food costs more” post and was like oh no, not this again. But then I went back and started from the beginning and realized she wasn’t necessarily saying that good food costs more, just that it was something that people thought.

Last week was interesting, she was trying to see how much it cost to eat healthy, so she was calculating costs and posting that along with the pictures. I don’t have a problem at all with what she’s eating, it all looks very good, but I thought some of the costs seemed really high. I think she had a salad with baba ghanoush and hummus that cost over $5. Yikes! But she’s not posting grocery lists (or if she is, I haven’t seen them) so I can’t really tell where the costs are coming from. Also it seems to me that trying to do things cheaply can’t be that much of a priority, otherwise she wouldn’t be eating fresh blackberries and blueberries in January.

But whatever, I’m looking forward to reading more of it, and may have further comments at a later date.

Also I bought a copy of Hungry Planet: What the World Eats, which I posted a picture from during my food project, that a friend had emailed me when I told him what I was doing. The book actually looks fascinating, it’s not just pictures of what people buy but also stories about how they shop, what kinds of foods are available, how people in different cultures eat, etc. I’m really looking forward to spending some time with it.

And I made a recipe yesterday that did not involve pork fat or heavy cream, so I’ll be posting that soon. Need to get through a couple of deadline-oriented things first but it shouldn’t be long.

2 Responses to “Interesting Project”

  1. Sharon Says:

    There is a new follow up book to Hungry Planet called
    What I Eat: Around the World in 80 diets
    http://www.aroundtheworldin80diets.com/
    The daily diets ranged from 800 to 12,000+ calories.

    Which Hungry Planet diet would you like? I have thought it would be interesting to do a challenge with the Sudanese refuges in Chad diet for Week 1 and then each challengers favorite HP diet for Week 2.

    A similar challenge might be interesting for the What I Eat Book.

  2. lessisenough Says:

    Yes, I saw an article about the follow-up book. I considered getting that too, but decided to get just Hungry Planet, which I started reading this week and it’s so fascinating! I was thinking I’d just skim and look at the pictures but it’s so much more interesting to read the whole story.

    I’m not sure yet which diet I’d like best, but I recall when looking at the pictures initially that it seemed like there was a spot right in between too little (like the Chad refugee camp) and way too much (like the U.S. and German families) where it looked like people had plenty of good food.

    What it actually made me interested in doing was looking at their methodolgy and doing it for myself (and also seeing if I could get others of my friends or family to do it — not sure if anyone would be up for that). I would love to see what my picture looked like.

    It also makes me want to get their original book (or at least I think it was the first of the series) Material World, where they photographed people with all of their posessions in front of their house. I can’t even imagine the logistics of that project!


Leave a Reply

