Back Soon

Sunday, July 3, 2011

I know it’s been quiet around here. I was wiped out on many levels by all the moving and associated Scrap Exchange excitement — plus things like meetings with the Obama administration to talk about Fourth Sector Initiatives and whatever else was going on over there. Then had to try to regroup with my own work, which was not going so well with everything at Scrap Exchange still chaotic. Once things seemed mostly under control over there, I headed off to my secret undisclosed location for little bit to try to get through a very large backlog of emails and to-do items.

I work at night, and for a while had been thinking that I should try to adjust my schedule to be more normal. (Why I feel the need to be more normal, I’m not sure. It’s just one of those things I get hung up on sometimes.)

One good thing that came out of all of the chaos is that I realized that a normal schedule is not going to work for me right now. I need long stretches of unbroken time to work in, and the only way to get long stretches of unbroken time is to work when no one else is working — no one else working means no phone calls, no emails, and no real options for things to do other than work.

The times when no one else is working are either very early in the morning or very late at night. Working from six to ten in the morning would definitely be more industrious and Benjamin Franklin-esque, but working from ten at night to two in the morning is when I can actually manage to get things done. So in the battle of the Ben Franklin vs. the teenage boy schedule, the teenage boy schedule wins. Ten o’clock to two o’clock it is.

And you can’t work until two in the morning if you’re getting up at the butt-crack of dawn. So I’m back to sleeping in the morning and doing office stuff and meetings in the afternoon and serious work at night. And I’m getting more or less caught up with most things, work and household and miscellaneous life activities.

The one exception is here. It’s funny because I’ve had conversations with people where I talk about Bloggers, and the person I’m talking to sometimes says, “But you’re a Blogger.” And I say I’m not a Blogger, I’m someone with a blog. There’s a difference.

Bloggers write about whatever their blog is about no matter what is going on with their lives. They have to. They have many thousands of readers who come in search of writing on certain types of things, and their income depends on readers coming to their blog. People with blogs sometimes stop writing for weeks on end when things happen that they need to deal with.

I’m not a Blogger. I’m a person with a blog. And I’m really glad about that.

The main problem for me is that I write about food and I like writing about food, but when I’m in the middle of other things, my food gets very, very basic and is really not worth writing about. And during times when my food gets very basic, it’s also likely that I won’t be able to think of anything else to write about either, because I am consumed by whatever it is I’m trying to deal with, and my head is void of thoughts that would be of interest to anyone but me.

So my head is still a little bit empty, but I’ve started easing my way into my work day by reading things on the web, and most of it is bad, which made me feel like it was time to try to write something. Which also might be bad, but probably not as bad as everything else out there.

And hopefully soon I’ll writing something interesting. But for tonight, this is the best I can do.

Leave a Reply

