Technical Difficulties

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

UPDATE: The technical difficulties appear to have been resolved. We’ll keep our fingers crossed that the site stays up.

*****

Okay so we appear to be having technical difficulties at the main Scrap Exchange website (www.scrapexchange.org). The website is down, with a weird generic page in its place. This is a problem given that we are one day away from the end of our fundraiser.

I think God hates us.

We’ve called our web host and sent emails and are hoping the situation is resolved quickly, but it’s been like this for a few hours already so it’s clearly not being resolved as quickly as we’d like.

For anyone looking to make an online donation, here is the link to Network for Good. If you’d like to make a Paypal donation, the button is available in the sidebar of the Scrap Exchange blog at thescrapexchange.blogspot.com.

And I would say we should sack the IT people but I am the IT people and if I get sacked there will be no website at all, which hardly seems like an improvement.

4 Responses to “Technical Difficulties”


  1. I just checked (3:27pm EST) and your homepage is up and working both on the PC and Macsides.

    (Don’t you know to call me first to verify?)

    Tom

  2. lessisenough Says:

    Do you mean you can fix it just by checking? Awesome!

    Not sure how long it was down, one message from a friend sent at 11:30am, one from a different friend sent at 2:30pm, both wondering what was going on. I decided to go fix something to eat and stop checking it to see if it was back up again, it was making me crazy.


  3. Well, now I’m just hurt you didn’t give me a call early in the day.

    — Tom

  4. lessisenough Says:

    Well to clarify my last comment, before going to fix something to eat, I called the web host person and and sent him an email and had Ann call him and put up a post on the Scrap blog and on my blog saying that there were technical problems. A little while later he called Ann and said he was working on it and it should be fixed within an hour. That’s when I decided to go eat instead of constantly checking to see if it was back up yet.

    Is this really something that someone other than the web host could have fixed?


Leave a Reply

