Happy New Year

Monday, January 2, 2012

Okay so I know I left things hanging for the past few weeks.

Scrap holiday party food took a bunch of time, though I was nicely rewarded when someone who had been enjoying the offerings seemed like he was going to compliment something and then just said, “Everything on this table is exceptionally good.” Apparently he couldn’t narrow it down to just one thing that he liked.

The egg nog managed to live up to expectations, and my generous neighbor Ron donated four loaves of bread from his bakery, Loaf, which was a huge hit. Especially since I served it with fresh butter, made using the clothes dryer as a churn.

[How do you do that? Basically you follow the instructions given here, but instead of shaking the jar, you put the jar in a plastic bag and make sure the lid is on REALLY tight, and wrap it up with padding (I use dish towels) and put in the clothes dryer,  and run it on air (i.e., NO heat) until the butter has formed. I’ve done it before, but it took longer this time than I remembered, at least an hour, maybe an hour or an hour and a half. I’d set the dryer for 20 to 30 minutes and was doing other things, so I’d just let it sit until I managed to check and see if it was done and if it wasn’t, I’d put it back in for more. I meant to stop when it was fluffy, like whipped cream, before it has fully separated and formed, but didn’t manage to catch it in time. And then I made the mistake of putting it in the fridge instead of leaving it out so it would be spreadable. So a little bit hard to work with the bread, but tasty nonetheless.]

And then I was so enjoying my holiday peace and quiet that I couldn’t bring myself to write anything. But I am still planning on wrapping up the My Life and The Pioneer Woman series with a final post with my advice for what to do instead of comparing yourself to others. Hopefully it will be worth the wait.

And I am uncharacteristically (and somewhat sadly, I might add) without blogging obsessions at the moment, and have been left to spend my work breaks looking at house tours on Apartment Therapy, in the hopes that it will motivate me to get going with the house stuff I need to do. It has been motivating enough to get me to think about things, but not to actually do anything yet. Gotta start somewhere, I guess.

At any rate, best wishes for a joyous and prosperous 2012, and more posts coming soon.

Leave a Reply

