Gratitude, Fourth of July Edition

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Peaches in peach tree

My Peach Tree

I generally always feel a low level of angst about my life — Am I doing what I should be doing? Should I be doing something else? Am I doing a good job? Does any of this even matter? — but I think I’m now at an age where a lot of my friends are going through the same thing, not just generally angsty people like myself. So I’ve been having lots of mid-life crisis discussions lately, “Oh no, I forgot to have a baby!,” “Oh no, I forgot to have a career!”. Things like that.

After many discussions with me both offering and receiving some useful and some not so useful input, I realized that the advice I gave to wrap up my Pioneer Woman series was probably the best thing anyone can say.

Don’t spend energy worrying about what you did or didn’t do with your life, or what you should or shouldn’t be doing, and focus instead on your actual life that you are living right now, and be grateful for what you have.

So in an effort to take my own advice, I decided to focus on gratitude today. And it turns out that what I am most grateful for right now is … pie!

Peach Pie

Peach Pie

I made my grandmother’s peach pie last week with Latta’s eggs and Mapleview Dairy whole milk and peaches from the peach tree in my front yard and it was divine.

(I also made homemade Snickers bars¬†recently and they were divine, too. In fact they were so divine that they need a warning label — you should make those only if you have somewhere you can physically remove them to and give away before you return home. Or if you have like 40 people coming over. No one needs three and a half pounds of the best thing you’ve ever tasted lying around the house. Totally dangerous.)

And on this Independence Day eve I’m also grateful that I have the freedom to celebrate the holiday in whatever manner I see fit.

So I wish everyone a relaxing and enjoyable holiday, and if you’re looking for something to take to a potluck, make this pie. Everyone will be grateful.

Grandma Beulah’s Peach Pie

1 Tbsp butter
8 Tbsp (1/2 cup) flour
2/3 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt
2 cups milk
2 egg yolks
1 tsp vanilla

1 prepared pie crust (pastry or graham cracker crust)

Melt the butter in the top of a double boiler.

Combine separately the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, salt) and the milk and egg yolks. Add the milk and egg yolks to the dry ingredients and stir to combine, then add to the double boiler and heat until thick, stirring occasionally.

Remove from heat and let cool. Stir in the vanilla.

Put in prepared crust and chill. Add sliced peaches to top when ready to serve.

6 Responses to “Gratitude, Fourth of July Edition”


  1. Lovely post and I will try the pie when I do the next song circle!

  2. yonderlight Says:

    Nice. I have some ripened 99cent/lb (I do miss the cent symbol key on these modern typewriters keyboards) peaches from wf in the frig, a g-f pie crust in the freezer and a free day. I don’t keep sugar or flour around but I reckon I am now inspired to craft a good ole fashioned, america, grandma and peach pie try at a cobbler variation on the peach theme. Will let you know what I stir up.
    Grateful peaches to you. happy independence from oppression and tyranny day.
    “Oh no, I forgot to write a coming of age novel!”

  3. lessisenough Says:

    I made a fabulous cobbler a few years ago with a mixture of blackberries, blueberries, peaches. No crust, biscuits on top. I don’t remember any other details except that it boiled over and made a mess of the oven. And that it was delicious.

    At the Green Market on Pettigrew last week I got a pint (? think it was a pint, not the ridiculous tiny size that has the $8 raspberries in them but also not the honking big ones we used to get when I was growing up, that I now can only dream of — normal in between size, 3 or 4 servings) of blackberries for $2. It’s definitely the place to go for produce.


  4. Great post! It’s better to think about what you are doing and want to do, not what you missed out on doing.

    Did I exactly plan to be 42 and pregnant? Uh no. But baby’s almost here and while I’ll then have to re-configure the whole family/career thing, we’ll be fine.

  5. lessisenough Says:

    I was talking with a friend a few years ago about a friend of hers who was having a fourth child (third pregnancy, first was a set of twins) and she said she asked her friend if they had a name and she said yes, Baby Oops!

    So congratulations on the upcoming baby Oops. And yes, you’ll be fine.


Leave a Reply

