Thought for the Day

Thursday, May 23, 2013

I’ve been reading personal finance books lately. I am aiming for a comprehensive review with a compare-and-contrast and which kind of advice is good for which kind of person post. Hopefully my vision will not exceed my capacity, and I’ll actually be able to get that done.

In the meantime, all of this reading is making me think of two things.

One is the joke, “There are two kinds of people in the world—people who divide the world into two kinds of people and people who don’t.”

I feel like there are two schools of thought when it comes to managing finances (clearly I am the kind of person who divides the world into two kinds of people), and it’s interesting for me to read different books and think about them objectively and see which paradigm they fit into.

The other is the quote attributed to Henry Ford: “If you think you can do something, or if you think you can’t, you are right.”

In my opinion, the biggest problems people have with finances come from within themselves—thinking they need to do this or that thing, or they can’t make a particular change because … name your reason. Everyone always has a million reasons why this thing that might work fine for other people would not work for me, it just wouldn’t.

But the truth is, if it’s important, and you want to make it work, you will figure out a way to make it work.

So that’s the thought for the day.

If you think you can do something, or if you think you can’t, you are right.

2 Responses to “Thought for the Day”

  1. Trish Perkins Says:

    I thought this was an extremely amusing post, Rebecca. I assume this is not the end of the finances discussion and I’m looking forward to more!

  2. lessisenough Says:

    Thanks. No, not the end, just the beginning. I have lots to say on this subject.


Leave a Reply

