Happy Birthday!

Wednesday, July 3, 2013

I got a message today from my friend Bryant telling me that today, July 3, is the anniversary of M.F.K. Fisher’s birth.

In my quick search for references, I found a great post from 2012 on the L.A. Weekly’s food blog commemorating the occasion, and suggesting that everyone celebrate over the next few weeks (M.F.K. Fisher reportedly celebrated her birthday from the beginning of July through Bastille Day, July 14 — yet another reason to like her, she knew how to celebrate) by reading An Alphabet for Gourmets. Two weeks to read twenty-seven short essays.

I can think of no better idea than that.

Happy birthday, M.F.K. Fisher.

Leave a Reply

