Day Nineteen

Saturday, February 28, 2009

What I Bought on Day Nineteen

What I Bought on Day Nineteen

Summary Page

My grandfather (my dad’s father) grew up in Pocatello, Idaho, and his sister, my Aunt Blanche, told me this story.

When my grandfather was living back east in Washington, D.C., his mother came to visit on the train, and packed potatoes in her suitcase to give to him.

He said, “Mother, I can get potatoes here.”

She said, “Yes, but they’re not like these.”

That’s what I always think of when I make this dish.

Like the Sun Over the Mountains

Like the Sun Over the Mountains

It’s called an Idaho Sunrise and comes courtesy of my favorite cookbook author Marion Cunningham (who I hope to discuss in greater length in a future post) in her book The Supper Book. She says, “This is simply a baked potato with a bright yellow egg sitting on top of it, but when you mash the egg into the buttered potato, it’s like the sun coming up over the mountains.”

Basically you bake a potato, then slice off the top and scoop out the insides. In the actual recipe, you mix the scooped out potato with a little milk and butter and salt and pepper. In my version you mix with a little … salt. Then put the potato back in the shell and break an egg over the top and return to the oven until the egg is cooked to your desired level of doneness—”until the egg is set but the yolk is still soft enough to make a nice sauce for the potato.” About 8 to 10 minutes.

And I think that might have been the best meal I’ve ever had.

Also today did a rerun of the Jiffy biscuits, and glad I didn’t have to take pictures of this round since they did not hold together coming out of the pans nearly as well. They are not photogenic muffins.

For Meal One, I had a soft-boiled egg and and cornmeal muffins and an orange.

For Meal Two, I had a little bit of the millet un-pilaf and the Idaho Sunrise. I’ve actually never cooked millet before this experiment, and I need to make it when I can use some fat (i.e., in an actual pilaf) because the flavor is good and it’s filling, it’s just dry the way I made it. I still have one serving left of that.

That’s it for today.

Thanks for playing.

Receipt Day Nineteen

Receipt Day Nineteen

[Note that I had $2.43 available today and I came in just under the wire. Wasn’t sure if I was going to make it, and it took some doing to find a potato that small.]

9 Responses to “Day Nineteen”

  1. melody Says:

    Wow! I blown away by what you are doing! I am eating on $3.33 a day for me and my two teen sons (who live with me part time) http://www.melomeals.blogspot.com .. but a DOLLAR a day? I can’t even imagine. So far this month, I have spent $50.00.. BUT I have been eating out of my pantry.

    I am sooo going to follow your blog!

  2. fernando Says:

    hi, just read your whole story.

    I like it, and have some comments to make, possibly some good ones.
    I see you buy a lot in latin stores, have you thought on buying different kinds of food? (I mean, some things you didnt use before or know before) Some latin stores will have local things, like corn tortillas wich are cheap, full of carbs and make you feel full pretty easily. (a normal dish with tortillas would be rice and beans)

    I have a good question to ask? what about water? do you drink plain water all the time? or do you take wine for a change (well, not wine but how about lemon water?)

  3. lessisenough Says:

    Since this is only for 30 days, not for the rest of my life, I’m not worrying so much about variety or trying new things. Just trying to do the best I can in the short-term.

    My local Latino independent grocery has a tortilleria and I am looking forward to buying a dollar worth of tortillas within the next 10 days.

    Thanks for the suggestions!

  4. Jeanne Says:

    Hey, I am still keeping up. Have you ran across any Jiffy Pizza crust mix? There are also envelopes of store brand Pizza crust mixes that are really inexpensive. I bet you could make 2 or 3 meals out of one pack. You are getting a following. Thank you for doing this.

  5. lessisenough Says:

    I actually have a recipe for pizza in an old cookbook (Economical Recipes for Small Families, isn’t that a great name?) that uses biscuit mix as the crust, and I was planning on doing that but I’m not sure if I’m going to get to it before the 30 days are up. I’ve never made it before so I don’t know how it is.

  6. Phil Says:

    Great blog and great effort. And wow — that Idaho sunrise looks great!

  7. CVF Says:

    OK Becky, we’ll be making sunrises for dinner this week, if I can find a decent baking potato in Paris.

    Keep it up, you’re doing a great job and I’m enjoying following your quest.

    I ran across an interesting counterpoint to your quest – see http://thisiswhyyourefat.com/ – I wish they’d put a $ cost (and health cost, and environmental cost) on some of those concoctions!

    … your Paris fans …


  8. I must say, I could not agree with you in 100%, but that’s just my opinion, which indeed could be very wrong.
    p.s. You have a very good template . Where did you find it?

  9. lessisenough Says:

    The template is a standard WordPress template called “Simpla”. I like it very much, and thought it worked well for the subject I was writing about.


Leave a comment